My small near-mid-western town likes to think big when it comes to racing police cruisers, the fire engine and an ambulance up and down main street multiple times a week. But other than the nuisance of that noise, it’s a rather hum-drum life here and I quite like it.

Returning a few movies to the library after voting, there was an older man, somewhere around retirement age, standing on the corner of the two intersecting main streets in town holding a sign:

Teamsters For
Romney/Ryan

I honked, gave him a thumbs up and he waved back. This juxtaposed against the Democrat headquarters on the opposite diagonal corner, a sign in the window reading:

Stop The War On Workers

I love following politics. I’m a junkie, an amateur admittedly. I watched all the Republican Candidate debates last summer and earlier this year, as well as the two Presidential Debates a few weeks ago. I’m not at all a Romney fan. I voted for the Constitution Party candidate again this time. Joe Lieberman said it well after running as an Independent, that I didn’t leave my party, they left me. I feel the same about not only the Republicans, but most politicians in general. It would be whitewashing historical context to say that politics has always had the individual’s best interests in mind as government is at best a cruel master. But why is it so difficult for elected leaders to pass something that’s good for the country as a whole and then stay out of everyone’s business? 60 Minutes had a good story relating to that question just this past Sunday.

In any case, it would be nice to vote for a major party candidate who didn’t have his hands tied to the Israeli Lobby. Or thought closing military bases around the world constitutes retreat and defeat. For that would bring to the forefront the fact that despite the Cold War being “over”, the U.S. still effects that very mission. I never heard Romney explain why having a large military presence around the world was good for our security and interests. In fact, he never admitted what he believes our interests are. What is just as scary to me is Romney’s belief that an Executive Order is permissible to pass positive or negative law. He was rather adamant early on in saying he would use such a process to repeal ObamaCare.

I’m hoping Sherrod Brown loses his Senate seat tonight. I didn’t like pulling the lever for Josh Mandel since he is just as moneyed and tied to special interests as Brown. This was the most difficult decision for me since I’d rather have gone with Scott A. Rupert. But I finally decided that getting rid of Brown was best done in voting for Mandel. And that putting in a Rupert will be a better road to travel in the future.

In relation, I wish the electorate wasn’t so caught up on who wins the White House. True, the President sets the general political tone via his leadership but it is the Congress which ultimately sets policy via legislation.

Ohio has risen to the top in importance this last week of the campaign season. Anyone can win the state. Yet I have not heard one news agency explain Ohio politics well and why we are a purple state. It is somewhat like New York State where just a few counties in NYC will give a politician the state. For Ohio, it is the story of its cities. Obama did not win one rural county in 2008. For Romney to carry the state, he has to take or split at least one city with Obama. I believe it comes down to ethnic relation – how well did Romney present himself and his policies to Ohio’s black population? As Cincinnati was a major hub of the Underground Railroad, one would assume the black population would skew Republican. Yet I think it actually comes down to Cleveland. Urban blight coupled with how district lines are drawn will determine whether we in Ohio skew red or blue this time around. Urban blight and redistricting are why our ballot’s Issue 2 is so important.

And finally, keeping in line with my last two posts, I’ll leave off with some election humor.

